Waiting for the big push


20131003-212948.jpg

The eagle eyed amongst the quite surprisingly large numbers of readers who fall into the world of rubiesandduels may have noticed a drop off in quantity ( although hopefully, not quality) in recent weeks.
This is of course because NANOWRIMO is beckoning and like a nervous fun runner approaching a marathon, I have been tapering my training or to drop the running analogy ( as I really don’t think I can take it any further), I’m writing less, but thinking more.
I’ve long accepted that I don’t have a novel inside me, not even the usual one.
My real love is linked fiction, themed writing and portmanteau fiction

Last years’ effort told 30 stand alone but linked fictions woven between the 30 vehicles in and around a traffic jam…its still upon the blog, if you fancy a look.

This years’ is still in the staring into space and pondering…..but it will definitely involve newspaper headlines and imposed dates.

So, why do this ????
It’s a good question.
I don’t seek to get the NANOWRIMO work published, I don’t perform it, I don’t even workshop it, but the experience of writing 50,000 words in 30 days is totally immersive, focuses the mind wonderfully and each time I do it, my writing is sharper, possibly better in the subsequent year.

Why not have a go yourself ???

About cathi rae

50ish teacher & aspiring writer and parent of a stroppy teenager and carer for a confused bedlington terrier and a small selection of horses who fail to shar emy dressage ambitions. Interested in contemporary fiction but find myself returning to PG Wodehouse when the chips are down View all posts by cathi rae

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

