holiday


I’m taking a holiday she says and lets her phone run out of charge.

I’m taking a holiday she says and forgets to shave her legs.

I’m taking a holiday she says and allows her in-box to overflow

I’m taking a holiday she says and watches as the nail varnish chips on her toe nails

I’m taking a holiday she says and wonders how long it will be before she runs out of clean plates

I’m taking a holiday she says and unpaid bills pile up in an unsteady heap

I’m taking a holiday she says,  refuses to update her status, refresh her tweets, re-blog the picture of a  puppy in a lobster suit

I’m taking a holiday  she says, the stripe of grey is wider in her hair

i’m taking a holiday she says and calculates the current cost of her library fine

I’m taking a holiday she says and writes her name in the dust on every surface she passes between bed and fridge and back again

I’m taking a holiday she say and ignores the bloody red light on her answering machine

I’m taking a holiday she says and watches as one by one the leaves drop from her weeping fig

I’m taking a holiday she says

I’m taking a holiday.

 

 

About cathi rae

50ish teacher & aspiring writer and parent of a stroppy teenager and carer for a confused bedlington terrier and a small selection of horses who fail to shar emy dressage ambitions. Interested in contemporary fiction but find myself returning to PG Wodehouse when the chips are down View all posts by cathi rae

Leave a Reply

