E


My cat is up prior to sun up . Its’ tiny miaow adds to my snoozing vision and starts to push I into today

I sit up, yawn, a morning ritual. body tight and flops,  fills a a tiny bit of now. Cat stills shouts, I think about ignoring it, but guilt is strong within I. So, I stand up, slowly, scoop up cat and so, downstairs, both thinking about food.

By the sink, cat is loud, mouth pushing sound out. I  am too slow, cats’ miaow is cross now.

I look for a  tool for tins, try to find a tidy bowl a midst a mound of grubby crocks.

Find a fork, scoop into a tin of cat food, dish it up to cat

She stops giving any focus to I, all is on a dish

No sound

And now dogs’ turn, it is too civil to think about fussing, but looks into my ocularity, with total faith that food will occur today and all days.

Cats’ food is finito, she sums up a sound and looks with vigorous focus at dog, staring at  his bowl,now  instantly approaching it, ignoring his growl, a mouth quickly into his food.

WUFFFFFFFFFFFFF

Cat jumps, i drop a tool for making warm drinks, dog stops, awaiting  a bolt from a sky

Fora spot of day, no-body stirs.

But  cat and dog  begin a ritual again

Cat  jumps, dog growls, I jump too

A morning begins.

About cathi rae

50ish teacher & aspiring writer and parent of a stroppy teenager and carer for a confused bedlington terrier and a small selection of horses who fail to shar emy dressage ambitions. Interested in contemporary fiction but find myself returning to PG Wodehouse when the chips are down View all posts by cathi rae

Leave a Reply

