My daughter is reading “catcher in the rye” and cannot be disturbed.


My daughter is reading catcher in the rye and cannot be disturbed and I am jealous because she is reading it for the first time and I can never experience that moment of recognition ever again.
This week she has discovered Sylvia Plath for the first time and again I know that I can never have the shock, the visceral recognition In finding an author who articulates all the pain of young womanhood again.
My daughter is exploring the beat writers and I wonder if she too dreams of road trips and bad trips and an all American soundtrack.
My daughter has taken herself to her bedroom, to read of pain, of un-belonging, to befriend all the lost boys and faltering girls.
My daughter is under her duvet, believing that she is the only person who understands these writers and knows that these writers articulate all that she feels and knows and that this has never happened to anyone in the whole history of time.
My daughter is reading catcher in the rye and cannot be disturbed.

About cathi rae

50ish teacher & aspiring writer and parent of a stroppy teenager and carer for a confused bedlington terrier and a small selection of horses who fail to shar emy dressage ambitions. Interested in contemporary fiction but find myself returning to PG Wodehouse when the chips are down View all posts by cathi rae

2 responses to “My daughter is reading “catcher in the rye” and cannot be disturbed.

Leave a Reply

