I’m about to find out…..


I’m about to find out that he’s cheating on me.

Very, soon, everything I think I know will prove to be untrue.
But just now, I’m in a bubble of ignorance.
Just now, I’m in the supermarket, pushing the trolley up and down wondering if i can fool him with a ready made lasagne if I add my own Parmesan.
And just now I’m remembering to pick up razor blades and that moisture he likes to use after he shaves and I’m moving on auto pilot, up and down the isles, hands grabbing, mind still busy with that terrible after school meeting.

Heading back to the car, I don’t know how close I am to my own emotional RTA.

Time to notice the post-it stuck to the dashboard, ” don’t let the car run on empty, it’s bad for the engine”….whoops, and all the while its getting closer and I have no idea.

Home, check the clock and because I don’t, can’t know what’s happening next, I think I’ve got all the time in the world.
Unload the shopping, sort out a wash…
I’m about to put my hand in his pocket, remove the scraps of paper to avoid post wqsh fluff
I’m about to find out…..

About cathi rae

50ish teacher & aspiring writer and parent of a stroppy teenager and carer for a confused bedlington terrier and a small selection of horses who fail to shar emy dressage ambitions. Interested in contemporary fiction but find myself returning to PG Wodehouse when the chips are down View all posts by cathi rae

Leave a Reply

