On the night bus becomes a category….


Ive had such positive feedback from the stand alone super short piece ” On the night bus”, that I’ve decided to put together a whole mini- collection based on characters and journeys on late night buses.

Several reasons, I love, or at least my brave pants younger self, loved late nights, clubbing and travelling home in a state best described as messy on the night bus. There is something slightly surreal about that number of very inebriated people squashed together at the fag end of a night out, especially when you add in the shift workers, the night time people and the simply mad and weird. I suspect that there will be lots of writing space/permission for a series about late night in big cities.

I enjoy constricted projects, so the dogs project, the 12 trailers and some of the other mini- collections give some structure, an outline, when I fel the writing is foundering a little.
Dependant how ambitious i feel, i may write enough pieces to fill a night bus itself [ note to self – google how many seats on a night bus] or the collection may stay small.

And finally, every time I write or say on the night bus, I find myself actually saying “In the night garden” and that just makes me smile.

As always, feedback, commments, likes and re-blogging make it all worthwhile.

About cathi rae

50ish teacher & aspiring writer and parent of a stroppy teenager and carer for a confused bedlington terrier and a small selection of horses who fail to shar emy dressage ambitions. Interested in contemporary fiction but find myself returning to PG Wodehouse when the chips are down View all posts by cathi rae

Leave a Reply

