Well here’s a scary thing


I was talking to a friend this weekend about the physicality of writing and we got to discussing whether actually writing with pens, paper at al would have some effect on the contents of any writing and then he kindly gave me a notebook .
I have always written directly onto this blog, but am definitely interested in how I will use my little black book….it looks scarily empty at the moment.
I’ll keep you posted.

20130610-205935.jpg

About cathi rae

50ish teacher & aspiring writer and parent of a stroppy teenager and carer for a confused bedlington terrier and a small selection of horses who fail to shar emy dressage ambitions. Interested in contemporary fiction but find myself returning to PG Wodehouse when the chips are down View all posts by cathi rae

2 responses to “Well here’s a scary thing

  • writingmom2013

    Writing physically works very well for a lot of people. Perhaps you will find that the work you pen by hand is more stimulating, or requires less editing, or is simply more fun than staring at a screen.

    I find that I cannot write quickly enough, however, if I am writing by hand. The awesome thing about a keyboard is that my thoughts can flow more quickly onto the medium by which I mean to transmit them. So I can make myself write a short story in one day, if I have the time (which I don’t, anymore, because I am a parent) – something I’m incapable of when writing by time. I write too slowly, which is bad for me, because I lose interest in works fairly quickly if I’m not making a certain amount of progress on them.

    Best of luck to you with your physical writing experiment!

Leave a Reply

